May 03, 2013

Skoda to field two crews in the Asia-Pacific Championship

Skoda is reinforcing its portfolio of motorsport activities in the Asia-Pacific region. The newly formed Skoda-MRF team is to make its first appearance in the APRC this year with full-fledged factory support and two crews. Skoda's factory crew Esapekka Lappi/
Janne Ferm (FIN) and Gaurav Gill/Glen Macneall (India/New Zealand) will both start in Skoda Fabia Super 2000. The APRC season starts with the Rally Whangarei in New Zealand on May 18-19.

"Skoda's tradition of excellent and competent motorsport is more than 100 years old," said Skoda CEO Prof. Dr. h.c. Winfried Vahland. "Skoda's entry to the APRC is an important step in terms of the brand's growth offensive in international markets. Asia is exactly the region where our ambition is to grow substantially in the coming years. Demonstrating local people's enthusiasm about rallying, the APRC is one of the key motorsport competitions in this region, offering us a great opportunity to present our brand to a large audience."

Commenting on the brand's entry to the APRC, Head of Skoda Motorsport Michal Hrabanek said,"Skoda is growing worldwide and is experiencing one of the most dynamic periods of its long history. We are proud to see Skoda Motorsport contributing to this growth."

"After our first successful appearances for Skoda Motorsport, we appreciate this chance to represent the brand also in the APRC. It is a great opportunity to show our competence," added Esapekka Lappi.

2013 APRC schedule
May 18-19: Rally of Whangarei - New Zealand
June 15-16: Rallye de Nouvelle Caledonie
July 13-14: Queensland Rally - Australia
August 24-25: Malaysia Rally
September 28-29 Hokkaido Rally - Japan
November 2-3: China Rally


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin...

back to top