December 21, 2012

North American International Auto Show announces 2013 poster contest winners

The North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) announced the winners of its annual high school poster contest held in conjunction with the upcoming 2013 show, which takes place January 14-27, 2013 at Cobo Center in Detroit. The grand prize, the Chairmens' Award
of $1,000, will be presented to Morgan Barrow, a 12th grade student at Stoney Creek High School in Rochester Hills, Mich. The NAIAS 2013 Chairmen, Jim Seavitt and Bob Shuman, selected the winning entry, which will be printed in the official NAIAS program.

Established to engage the creative minds of Michigan's future artists, the 25th annual contest recognises students from throughout the state. The 2013 contest had 69 high schools involved and 645 poster entries encompassing an automotive-related theme.

"The NAIAS present the Poster Contest each year, which encourages high school students' creativity and interest in the NAIAS and global auto industry," said Seavitt. "The talent seen in the poster entries from students and schools in Michigan is truly amazing. We congratulate the winning artists."

Winners were also selected in the following categories and awarded cash prizes:
Honoree who received a $1,000 prize:
State Farm Insurance Award: Dylan Balsitis, Mecosta Osceola Career Center, Big Rapids

Honorees who each received a $500 prize:
>   Designer's Best of Show - Digital: Brinsley Kubiak, Careerline Technical Center, Holland
Designer's Best of Show - Traditional: John Sroka, Lakeview High School, St. Clair Shores
10th Grade Award, 1st Place: Marissa Medici, Bishop Foley Catholic High School, Madison Heights
> 11th Grade Award, 1st Place: Daniel Gish, Careerline Technical Center, Holland
12th Grade Award, 1st Place: Ben Ellsworth, Saline High School, Saline

Honorees who each received a $250 prize:
Most Creative Award: Alex Saenz, Andover High School, Bloomfield Hills
Best Use of Color Award: Emiri Nishihira, Grand Blanc High School, Grand Blanc
Best Theme Award: Ashwin Ganesan, Lahser High School, Bloomfield Hills

Honorees who each received a $250 prize:
10th Grade Award, 2nd Place: Julian Neshewat, Andover High School, Bloomfield Hills
11th Grade Award, 2nd Place: Tess Kolp, Grosse Pointe North High School, Grosse Pointe Woods
12th Grade Award, 2nd Place: Violet Gjocaj, William D. Ford Career Technical Center, Westland

Honorees who each received a $100 prize:
10th Grade Award, 3rd Place: Micha Paulateer, Lahser High School, Bloomfield Hills
11th Grade Award, 3rd Place: Britney Kastl, Oakland Schools Technical Campus Southwest, Wixom
12th Grade Award, 3rd Place: Stephen Sinacori, Stoney Creek High School, Rochester Hills

The poster entries were judged by the NAIAS 2013 Chairmen, a General Motors Automotive Designer, a College for Creative Studies Instructor, and State Farm Insurance Representatives. All winning entries will be posted on the official NAIAS website and will be on display January 19-27 at the NAIAS 2013. The 25th Annual High School Poster Contest was open to Michigan students in grades 10 through 12.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin...

back to top