October 13, 2012

Winners of Volvo Trucks Safety Award 2012 in North America rewarded

Volvo Trucks in North America have rewarded the excellent performance records and safety-first focuses of Erb International and Munoz Trucking by naming them winners of the 2012 Volvo Trucks Safety Award.

Earlier this year, Volvo Trucks invited all fleets across the US
and Canada with more than five Class 8 trucks to apply for the annual awards. The awards are given in two categories: a) one for fleets with less than 20-million miles of annual operation and b) for those with more than 20-million miles. Fleets were ranked by their accident frequency rates, using the US Department of Transportation definition of a 'recordable accident' as well as their accident prevention programmes.

The winner of Category A was Munoz Trucking, Inc. from Texas with a fleet of 79 trucks and the winner of Category B was Erb International Inc from Ontario which operates more than 240 trucks. Both companies were rewarded for their low accident frequency rates as well as their accident prevention programmes.

"Safety means everything to Munoz Trucking," said Juan Pablo Munoz, President of Munoz Trucking. "We want to be sure the driver returns to their family and the public is safe. One of the ways we do that is by keeping up-to-date safety equipment."

"We are absolutely thrilled to win the Volvo Trucks Safety Award," said Wendell Erb, Erb International President and CEO. "When there is proven technology like Volvo offers that can improve safety for us, we will be right there to add it to the spec of the truck. What we see with Volvo is the safety side of the equipment is definitely an added bonus. Volvo is competitive in everything and at the same time, they are a very safe truck."

Magnus Koeck, Volvo Trucks' Vice President, Marketing and Brand Management in North America, said, "As a company that has safety as part of our culture, Volvo Trucks is pleased to acknowledge these commitments and the way they translate into safe performance on the road."

The winning fleets were recognised at an awards ceremony at the American Trucking Association's Management Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin...

back to top